From Polluted to Poofy

***EDIT***

I am no longer a Guide with Poofy Organics, but I still love this company. The quality of ingredients and the company’s transparency CAN NOT be beat!

Some Background

This may seem a little off-topic, but it is about the health and safety of your baby. Just bear with me. So, what I never anticipated when I became a mom was becoming a back-to-nature freak.

And by back-to-nature, I mean back to the old school, how your great-grandmother probably did it, use as little commercial and chemical products possible freak.

After I had Ellie, it was like a switch flipped in my brain, and suddenly I didn’t want to taint her perfect little body with the chemicals that are so abundant in modern living. The funny thing is, I didn’t give too much thought about it when I was pregnant.. but there’s just something about finally looking into the eyes of the tiny life you’ve grown that makes you want to change all of your ways for the better. At the time what I didn’t know was that upon birth, over 200 chemicals can be found in a newborn’s umbilical cord blood.

Did you read that last sentence? When your baby is born, he or she already has over 200 different chemical pollutants in his/her blood.  The chemicals range from pesticides, waste from consumer products (i.e. toxic ingredients in personal care products), to mercury. 

What. The. What.

If so much pollution is present, even when we’re born, why should we even try to eliminate or reduce it? Because a build up of these toxic chemicals can cause liver and kidney problems. They can throw your endocrine system out of whack. They cause nervous system problems, reproductive problems, and cancer. The Environmental Working Group has an article with some great info. You can read that here.

 

Connecting the Dots

According to this article from the National Library of Medicine, for children 0-14 years of age, developmental/genetic conditions that were present at birth and cancer are the two leading causes of death. According to cancer.gov, “Cancer..is the leading cause of death by disease past infancy among children in the United States.”

Now, I’m not saying that every case of childhood cancer could have been prevented if the child’s parents had been more proactive about their environment. Sometimes these things happen for reasons we can’t fathom or understand. My heart truly aches for families who have found themselves in that position. What I’m trying to say is that if the ingredients of items we are in contact with daily are known or suspected carcinogens, our best bet is to try and avoid them at most, and limit our exposure to them at least.

The Yucky Stuff

One assumes that if a product is on the shelf of a major retailer, then it must be safe to use- other wise they couldn’t sell it, right? Right?!

Wrong.

Look at your lotion. Does it have any of the following:  Triethanolamine,  dimethicone, or PEG compounds? If so, those ingredients are known to cause cancer and organ toxicity.

What about your deodorant? It may have polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), dimethicone, or cyclomethicone. Those are known to cause endocrine disruption, be reproductive toxicants and neurotoxins.

Does your shampoo or body wash have  sodium laureth sulfate, PEG compounds, 1,4-dioxane, or chemicals that include the clauses xynol, ceteareth and oleth? They’re known to cause cancer, organ-system toxicity, and irritation.

All of that and we’re not even out of the bathroom yet, folks. There’s so much more in our food, our cookware, on our clothes, and in the air. Scary, huh?

 

Turning the Tide

Once I learned what I was actually putting on and in my body, and allowing in my environment, something had to change. I knew my conscious would not settle for so-so. I needed to be confident that the products I used on myself and provided my family were of quality. I started by getting rid of dryer sheets and replacing them with wool dryer balls (dryer sheets are some of the most toxic things you have in your house). I switched out my harsh cleaners for vinegar and essential oil solutions. I started buying organic food as much as possible. Now, I’m focusing on body and personal care products. After much research, I came across Poofy Organics. The more I read about the company, the more I fell in love.

 

What is Poofy Organics?

Straight from Poofy:

POOFY ORGANICS was founded in 2006 after a family member was diagnosed with breast cancer. Our family was determined to stop using products laden with toxic chemicals. With no suitable alternatives to turn to, we made it our mission to find the safest and most effective ingredients for our products….We are a small family-run business and proud of our accomplishments. Products are made fresh, by hand, on our premises in small batches and fragranced only with essential oils and extracts that have long been used for therapeutic properties. When we say ORGANIC, we mean it! With USDA organic certification, you can trust that you’re getting the purest products possible!

Before you can trust anyone, you HAVE to read the labels. Even then, you still have to be careful. The cosmetic industry has no regulations on what goes into a product or on the cosmetic label. They can straight up lie to you without recourse. Things like “non-toxic, all natural, organic, paraben free,” all mean absolutely nothing. A product very well may be free of nasty chemicals, but then again, it may not.

When I researched Poofy, I loved the ingredients I saw. Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Apricot Kernel Oil,  Rosemary Extract, Activated Charcoal, Apple Cider Vinegar, just to name a few. All ingredients were USDA certified organic when applicable. The USDA organic certification is a very rigorous and tedious seal to obtain and maintain (see the blog post here). Businesses have to follow strict guidelines to ensure their products meet the standard. You can see the extensive regulations here. You know when you see that seal, you have the real deal. Poofy products are also gluten free, toxin free and non-GMO. They never test on animals. The line is SO expansive! Best of all, it’s affordable. Now, it might be shocking to see $11.25 for baby wash when you’re used to the $6.00 you pay at Walmart, but let’s do a quick comparison.

  • Johnson & Johnson Head-to-Toe Wash INGREDIENTS:

EWG RATING: 4

Water (eau), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, PEG-150 Distearate, Glycerin, Polyquaternium-10, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Benzoate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum

  • Poofy Organics Baby Body Wash and Shampoo INGREDIENTS:

Purified Water, Decyl Polyglucose, Organic Vegetable Glycerin, Organic Apple Cider Vinegar, Xanthan Gum (non-gmo) .

What would you rather use on your new baby? The only question now is why are we paying $6.00 for a lot of chemicals and a little parfum? Especially when those ingredients are linked to allergies and immunotoxicity? You can spend a few dollars more for high quality, safe ingredients. It really is worth it for the peace of mind. When I bath my baby, I know I’m not using chemicals that are known to disrupt the hormone system (linked to early puberty). I’m using the very best nature has to offer.

 

Interested?

Now, if I’ve caught your attention, know that Poofy has hundreds of products: Body (men and women), facial care, cosmetics, hair, baby, home cleaning, remedies, tooth care, bath luxuries. You name it, they have it. The ingredient list is printed clearly on every product. I don’t think you’ll find a more transparent and honest company. I hope this didn’t come off as sales-pitchy, because even though I am a GUIDE with Poofy, my number one priority is education. I want you to know the ingredients in your products and how they affect your body. I would love for you to compare your favorite product to Poofy’s equivalent of that product. I’m sure it will be eye opening! It was for me. The first thing I switched was my deodorant! When you know better, you do better- and honestly, it feels wonderful knowing that the products I use are gentle, nourishing and SAFE.

Check out all that Poofy has to offer at https://poofyorganics.com/

 

Leave a comment